Journey through the Wind Cave

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You first discover a cave through sound.  This summer I explored a cave with my dad in the Teton Mountains of Wyoming, and I brought my recorder along.  Photos below accompany the audio story.

Darby Canyon was sunny and warm, and we found ourselves surrounded by wildflowers and birds.

Darby Canyon was sunny and warm, and we found ourselves surrounded by wildflowers and birds.

We didn’t have to go far before we could see the entrance to the Wind Cave:  about forty feet high and ten feet wide, with a waterfall pouring out of it.

We didn’t have to go far before we could see the entrance to the Wind Cave: about forty feet high and ten feet wide, with a waterfall pouring out of it.

IMG_1638

Before we could get in the cave, we had to make it across the waterfall.

With a little bit of rock hopping we were able to cross the falls and hike up the stream that was running out of the cave.

With a little bit of rock hopping we were able to cross the falls and hike up the stream that was running out of the cave.

As we continued up the cave, the light from the sun and the sound of the waterfall gradually faded.

As we continued up the cave, the light from the sun and the sound of the waterfall gradually faded.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The cave narrowed, and soon the only light was from our headlamps, and the only sounds were running water and our footsteps on loose rocks.

With only a couple of feet between the cave ceiling and the rocky floor, I take off my pack, put on a pair of knee pads, and inch my way forward, pushing my pack ahead of me.

With only a couple of feet between the cave ceiling and the rocky floor, I take off my pack, put on a pair of knee pads, and inch my way forward, pushing my pack ahead of me.

Back in the sunshine, it feels good to be warm, it feels good to hear the birds, and it feels good to have gotten a glimpse into the Darby Wind Cave.

Back in the sunshine, it feels good to be warm, it feels good to hear the birds, and it feels good to have gotten a glimpse into the Darby Wind Cave.

Leave a Reply

